By Jim Wyatt | The Tennessean

March 3, 2012

Chris Marve is bypassing the NFL to pursue his dream of becoming an attorney or judge. Already accepted by one law school, he’s working at Nashville’s Neal & Harwell law firm while awaiting other offers. – GEORGE WALKER IV / THE TENNESSEAN

Chris Marve has spent half his life running down ball carriers and taking them to the ground. And he’s loved every minute of it.

Now, the former Vanderbilt linebacker is prepared to tackle something else — life after football. More specifically, he wants to be a lawyer or a judge — and he’s not wasting a minute in deliberations.

Instead of keeping one dream alive by preparing for the NFL draft, Marve put away his gear at the end of last season so he could immediately begin preparing for another.

His heart called an audible, he said.

“I wasn’t passionate about the game anymore, about playing it, at least. And I am the type of man where I don’t do anything halfway,” said Marve, a three-time All-SEC selection who finished as the conference’s active leader in career tackles with 397. “Playing football, I loved it. It developed my character and instilled in me dedication and how to work hard and lead.

“But football wasn’t who I was. It’s not who I am. It took me awhile to come to grips with that, but once I did, I knew I had to take the step I needed to take. I felt like this is the right thing to do.”

Marve, 23, has been accepted to one law school and is waiting to hear back from several others. He graduated from Vanderbilt in December and is working at the Neal & Harwell law firm in Nashville. He said he’s going to let law school guide him on a career path.

“For me to say I won’t miss the game, now that would be ridiculous for me to even say. I’ve played football since I was 10 years old,” said Marve, the oldest of seven children. “But am I happy with the decision I’ve made? Definitely. And I don’t think I’ll ever regret it.”

Possible draft pick

Marve, who started 49 games and was a two-year captain and one of the most decorated Commodores in recent memory, was certainly no lock for the NFL.

The 6-foot, 238-pounder is undersized for the position. Two draft analysts had a late-round grade on Marve but said he might have gone undrafted.

“He would’ve been a player somebody would’ve brought to camp,” Titans scouting coordinator Blake Beddingfield said. “He’s the kind of guy who would have the opportunity to make a team on special teams, and one of those guys a coaching staff would probably really like.

“He was a very experienced and productive player in the best conference in football. To be honest, I’m kind of surprised by (his decision).”

Beddingfield compared Marve to former Vanderbilt linebackers Marcus Buggs and Jamie Winborn, undersized players who managed to find a niche in the NFL. Winborn played 10 seasons, including parts of two with the Titans.

Former Vanderbilt defensive back Corey Chavous, a longtime NFL player and the founder of DraftNasty.com, said he had a sixth-round grade on Marve.

“There were going to be questions about his flexibility and being able to match up in coverage. But I thought he did all of those things well enough to play on special teams and develop,” Chavous said. “He’s a guy I think could’ve played on Sundays.”

Moving on

Marve’s mind is made up. There was some soul-searching, but he said he’s not turning back.

He started thinking about life after football after his junior year, when he interned at Neal & Harwell. By the time he graduated in December — with a double degree: human and organizational development and sociology — his post-football plans were in the works.

When he walked off the field at the Liberty Bowl in Memphis, his hometown, he figured it would be for the last time.

Then his focus shifted to a life in law, thanks in large part to the influence of his grandfather, Robert H. Marve III, an attorney in Baton Rouge, La. Marve’s father is an engineer, his mother a marketing director for Comcast.

Marve was accepted to Memphis Law School and is waiting to hear back from Vanderbilt Law and others. At Neal & Harwell, he’s “doing whatever they need me to do … you name it.”

Aubrey Harwell said Marve, who plans to start school in the fall, is on the right path.

“When Chris told me what he wanted to do, I told him, ‘Chris, you are not going to come up here and be a lawyer right off the bat. It doesn’t work that way,’ ” Harwell said. “I told him we don’t have jobs that are really going to use your talent and education and intelligence. He said, ‘That’s OK, I just want to learn.’

“The kid is solid. I think he is a man of high character and integrity, and he is one of those guys who, when he sets out to do something, he has the determination he’ll do it. If he wants to be a lawyer, he’ll be a lawyer and he’ll be a good one.”

Marve said he’s ready to prove himself all over again. He called on a higher court to make his decision for him.

“This is the right thing for me. I don’t think God makes mistakes. I know he doesn’t. I went to pray on this a lot, and he put me in this position and I am happy,” Marve said. ” … I’m looking forward to whatever is next.”

Reach Jim Wyatt